You are here

Legislative Summaries

Information in State Statutes and Regulations Relevant to the NBCP

The National Background Check Program (NBCP) aims to establish an efficient, effective, and economical nationwide system for States to screen prospective direct access employees of long term care (LTC) facilities and providers. Although many States already have a range of screening programs in place, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services aims to use the NBCP to help States enhance their existing background check systems to use a common framework and reach increased efficiency.

CNA has examined the different States’ specific requirements for background checks in the LTC setting. CNA reviewed relevant statutes and regulations from the 50 States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico, and created summaries of the statutes and regulations in place at the time of the review. The summaries describe what is in each State’s statutes and regulations that matches up with the NBCP requirements, as detailed in the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010. It is important to note that the summaries do not necessarily depict what States do in practice but, rather, what is required in statutes and regulations. To see a summary for a State, click on the State’s name.

Note: The date in parentheses next to the State’s name is the date that the summary was last updated. For questions, comments, or suggested updates to these legislative summaries, please email

Alabama (December 2010)
Alaska (July 2011)
Arizona (December 2010)
Arkansas (December 2010)
California (June 2011)
Colorado (January 2011)
Connecticut (January 2012)
Delaware (January 2011)
District of Columbia (June 2011)
Florida (January 2011)
Georgia (January 2011)
Hawaii (January 2011)
Idaho (July 2012)
Illinois (January 2011)
Indiana (January 2011)
Iowa (January 2011)
Kansas (February 2011)
Kentucky (June 2012)
Louisiana (January 2011)
Maine (January 2011)
Maryland (January 2011)
Massachusetts (January 2011)
Michigan (January 2011)
Minnesota (January 2011)
Mississippi (January 2011)
Missouri (June 2011)
Montana (January 2011)
Nebraska (January 2011)
Nevada (January 2011)
New Hampshire (January 2011)
New Jersey (January 2011)
New Mexico (January 2011)
New York (January 2011)
North Carolina (January 2011)
North Dakota (January 2011)
Ohio (January 2011)
Oklahoma (August 2011)
Oregon (June 2011)
Pennsylvania (August 2011)
Puerto Rico (February 2011)
Rhode Island (January 2011)
South Carolina (February 2011)
South Dakota (February 2011)
Tennessee (February 2011)
Texas (January 2011)
Utah (August 2012)
Vermont (January 2011)
Virginia (February 2011)
Washington (February 2011)
West Virginia (June 2011)
Wisconsin (February 2011)
Wyoming (February 2011)